Create Task step

Create a task on any ServiceNow task table. After you choose the task table, you can dynamically select the fields to configure the action. Defining the Parent field associates the task to a parent record.

Roles and availability

  • Available as an Action Designer action step. Subject matter experts use the action_designer role to create a custom action with one or more action steps.

Fields

Field Description
Table Select a task table.
  • Catalog Task [sc_task]
  • Change Phase [change_phase]
  • Change Request [change_request]
  • Chat Queue Entry [chat_queue_entry]
  • Feature Task [release_task]
  • Follow On Task [cert_follow_on_task]
  • Group approval [sysapproval_group]
  • Guided Setup Task [gsw_task]
  • IMAC [change_request_imac]
  • Incident [incident]
  • Incident Task [incident_task]
  • KB Submission [kb_submission]
  • Orphan CI Remediation [orphan_ci_remeditation]
  • Private Task [vtb_task]
  • Problem [problem]
  • Problem Task [problem_task]
  • Reclassification Task [reclassification_task]
  • Recommended Field Remediation [recommended_field_remediation]
  • Reconcile Duplicate Task [reconcile_duplicate_task]
  • Release Phase [release_phase]
  • Renew Lease Task [statemgmt_renew_lease_task]
  • Request [sc_request]
  • Request new Knowledge Base
  • [kb_knowledge_base_request]
  • Requested Item [sc_req_item]
  • Required Field Remediation [required_field_remediation]
  • Security Case [sn_ti_case]
  • Security Incident [sn_si_incident]
  • Security Incident Response Task [sn_si_task]
  • Security Request [sn_si_scan_request]
  • Service Order [sm_order]
  • Service Order Task [sm_task]
  • Service Task [service_task]
  • Stale CI Remediation [stale_ci_remediation]
  • Standard Change Proposal [std_change_proposal]
  • Ticket [ticket]
Field Values

Set static or dynamic values of fields in the record. For example, to set the short description to a static value, select Short description and set the desired value. To enable flow designers to dynamically define field values, define an input of type Template Value and drag-and-drop the data pill into the Field Values field. Use the input name to help flow designers understand the purpose of the field. You can define both static and dynamic values in the same step.

Note: If a static field value in the action step conflicts with a dynamic value defined when the action is added to a flow, the static value defined in the action step is honored.

To associate the task with a parent record, define the Parent field.

Wait

Waits to complete the step until the task completes and is no longer active (active=false).

Alternatively, you can add a wait condition by dragging-and-dropping a true/false field from the data panel into the Wait field. The flow only waits for the task to complete when the condition field is true.