Change types

Change Management offers ITIL-aligned processes for normal, standard, and emergency change types.

Normal change
Normal change requests follow the complete change life cycle before being implemented, reviewed, and closed. The process includes peer or technical approval, change management, and Change Advisory Board (CAB) authorization.
Standard change
Standard changes are often considered routine. A standard change is one that is frequently implemented, has repeatable implementation steps, is considered low risk, and has a proven history of success. Standard changes are considered pre-approved and follow a shorter life cycle in which the peer approval and CAB authorization steps are omitted.

Standard changes are considered ready for implementation and are scheduled directly. Approved standard change requests can be predefined in a catalog of templates to make the process of raising them more efficient. This ability also enables the Change Management team to control the changes that are authorized as standard.

Emergency change
Emergency changes cover the following types of emergencies.
  • Fix on fail or retroactive situations where the impact to service has already been experienced.
  • Fail or fail situations where the impact to service is imminent if action is not taken.
These changes do not follow the complete life cycle of a normal change due to the speed with which they must be authorized. Therefore they progress directly to Change Management and CAB authorization.