Domain separation allows you to cascade changes you make to a company record to the
domain and other records associated to the company.
By default, the system automatically assigns users to the same domain as their company. For
example, all users of the ACME company automatically become members of the TOP/ACME domain.
Note: Users with the admin role have the ability to change their own user records and
therefore can change domains. Managed Service Providers may want to either disable delegated
administration or set up an approval process to verify that the user needs the admin role.
When you change a company's domain, the instance automatically changes the domain of the
following associated records to match the company's new domain.
Note: The instance does not automatically change the domain of any record where you have selected
the Managed domain checkbox.
Domain deactivation and associated companies:
When you deactivate a domain, the instance also automatically completes the following
- Deactivates all companies in the domain.
- Prevents all users assigned to the inactive company from logging in.
Note: When a user from an inactive company attempts to log in, the user sees an error
For example, if you deactivate the ACME domain from the sample data, the instance also
deactivates the ACME company, and the three sample users are locked out.