Manage user sessions

The ServiceNow platform provides the ability to view and terminate individual user sessions, lock out users from the system, and make users inactive..

  • Terminating a specific user session effectively logs that user out of the next transaction, which is usually the next browser click. Use the terminate sessions feature when you want to perform system maintenance.
  • Locking a user out of the system means the user can no longer log in or generate any actions from any email messages that the user sends to the instance. Locking out users also terminates their user sessions.
  • Making a user inactive means that the user does not show up in any fields that reference active users on the User table.