Settings on the 'Password Reset Details' tab

The settings define the user experience when resetting or changing a password.

The Password Reset Details tab appears when you are configuring a process for resetting passwords (Password Reset > Processes).
Table 1. Fields on the Password Reset Details tab
Field Description
Public access

This check box is available only when Password reset is selected.

Select the check box to allow public access to the password reset form through a URL. If the check box is cleared, only service desk employees can reset a password using this process.

Public URL

This field box is available only when Public access is selected.

URL of the page where users go to reset their password. The value from the URL suffix field is appended to the URL when you tab out of the URL suffix field.

URL suffix

This field is available only when Public access is selected.

Suffix used to create a unique URL for the password reset form.

Display CAPTCHA

This check box is available only when Public access is selected.

Select the check box to display a captcha on the password reset page.

The password reset application uses Google re-CAPTCHA as the default CAPTCHA service. To use the base-system CAPTCHA, change the password_reset.captcha.google.enabled system property to false.

Identification type Method that the user employs to claim their identity for the public Password Reset or Password Change process. Any selection overrides the default identification that is associated with the process.

The base system includes the Email and Username Identification identification types. You can create a custom identification type (some knowledge of JavaScript is recommended).

See Personal data and personal data confirmation type verifications.

Enable account unlock

This check box is available only when Password reset is selected.

Select the check box to allow users' accounts on credential stores to be unlocked without resetting the password.

Unlock user account Select the check box to unlock users' accounts on credential stores after a password reset.
Auto-generate password

This check box is available only when Password reset is selected.

Select the check box to auto-generate a new password for the user. When this check box is selected, you are required to select the Email password or Display password check box, or both. This is useful for service-desk-assisted processes.
Note: To enable the Enforce history policy option for an Active Directory credential store, you must clear the check box. See Configure the connection to a credential store.
User must reset password

This check box is available only when Auto generate password is selected.

Select the check box to require users to reset their password immediately after logging in with the auto-generated password.
Note: Users whose credentials are held in the local ServiceNow instance credential store are prompted to change their password the first time that they log in. Users whose credentials are held in an Active Directory credential store are not prompted to change their passwords in the instance. Such users must change their passwords from a computer on the domain.
Display password

This check box is available only when Auto generate password is selected.

Select the check box to display the new password on the screen. In a self-service process, the password appears on the user’s screen. In a service-desk process, the password appears on the service-desk employee’s screen.
Email password

This check box is available only when Auto generate password is selected.

Select the check box to email the new password to the user. While this is useful in a self-service process, it can also be used in a service-desk process. Depending on the password reset process that your organization uses, this option can provide another layer of security by requiring that users access their email to view the password. In a service-desk process, emailing the password to users ensures that only the user requesting the password reset can view the password.

Related lists
Verifications

This related list is available only after the record has been saved.

One or more verifications that the process uses.