Thank you for your feedback.
Form temporarily unavailable. Please try again or contact to submit your comments.
  • London
  • Kingston
  • Jakarta
  • Istanbul
  • Helsinki
  • Geneva
  • Store

The IT Chart of accounts

The IT Chart of accounts

The IT chart of accounts contains the segments to which you allocate expenses.

A segment can be any of the dimension tables in the data mart. In a default IT chart of accounts definition, the Financial Management application provides ten segments, such as cost center, business unit, business service, and so on. You can also specify an additional eight segments. You can create your own IT chart of accounts definitions that use any segments you want (starting with the Geneva release).

Use the segments in allocation methods to determine how the allocation engine allocates expenses.

Default segments and dimensions

By default, the Financial Management application provides these dimensions, each of which have a corresponding segment in the default IT chart of accounts definition:

Table 1. Default segments and dimensions
Dimension name Dimension table Segment number
Business Unit Dimension Business Unit


Department Dimension Department


Business Service Dimension Business Service


Portfolio Dimension Portfolio


Project Dimension Project [dm_table_pm_project] 5
Server Dimension Server


Cost Center Dimension Cost Center


Location Dimension Location


Vendor Dimension Vendor


Note: Only companies with the Vendor check box selected are included.

IT Shared Service Dimension IT Shared Service


Note: The Bucket and Weight Maps dimensions are provided by default in the Financial Management data mart. It is not part of the IT chart of accounts by default, and you should not allocate expenses to buckets or weight maps.