Thank you for your feedback.
Form temporarily unavailable. Please try again or contact docfeedback@servicenow.com to submit your comments.

Manage your product backlog

Log in to subscribe to topics and get notified when content changes.

Manage your product backlog

Manage your product backlog at a centralized location. A backlog is a prioritized list of stories related to a specific product, epic, release, and so on. The definition of a backlog is flexible and is set up by the product owner.

Before you begin

Procedure

  1. Navigate to Agile Development > Agile Board > Backlog.

    If you have already created a personalized backlog, it would automatically appear in this tab. If you have not created a personalized backlog, then a welcome page appears that provides a link to create a backlog.

  2. From the choice list at the top left corner, select the required backlog.
  3. To create another backlog from the Backlog tab, click the Create Backlog Create a backlog icon icon.
  4. To add a story to the backlog:
    1. Click Create Story.
    2. Specify the required details in the story form and click Submit. The story appears at the bottom of the backlog.
      On clicking an existing story number, a story form appears in which you can edit the story details. If you have read-only access, you can open the story form but cannot edit the story details.
  5. To add a story to the backlog and simultaneously decide its order of implementation, perform these steps:
    1. Select a story in the backlog.
    2. Click Create Story.
    3. Specify the required details in the story form and click Submit. The story is created beneath the story that was selected in the backlog.
  6. To open the triage board of a specific task type (such as problems or defects), view the total numbers of records in the triage boards of all task types, and the edit the filter definition of a triage board, click Triage Board.
    The Triage Board option is displayed only when the Agile Development 2.0 — Unified Backlog plugin is installed.
  7. To move a triaged record from the Backlog tab to triage board, open the record in a form and click the Move back to triage board related link.
  8. To create a theme, from the Create Story list, click Create Theme. For instance, the theme of a release is enhancing a product with some cosmetic changes.
  9. To create an epic, from the Create Story list, click Create Epic.
  10. To show or hide the Epics filter, click Configuration, and toggle Show Epics Filter on or off.
  11. To personalize columns in the Backlog list, click personalize backlog list columns.
  12. To view the backlog in a standard platform list, click standard list icon.
  13. Click cards to view more details in a specific category.
    CardDescription
    Stories in total Displays the total number of stories in the backlog.
    No story points Displays the total number of records in the backlog without any story points.
    No acceptance criteria Displays the total number of records in the backlog without any acceptance criteria.
  14. To edit the filter criteria of the backlog, click Edit backlog icon.
  15. The Epics section lists epics that the stories of the backlog belong to. A maximum of 11 epics are displayed in this section. Epic completion is indicated by a blue progress bar. It is also indicated in terms of percentage.
    Select an epic. Only stories that belong to this epic appear in the Backlog section.
  16. The Backlog section in a list displays all the active stories assigned to the team, but not assigned to any sprint. To arrange stories within the backlog, use either of the following options:
    ActionDescription
    Using the drag feature Point to a story and drag it to the required position.
    Using the keyboard See Arrange stories using the keyboard.
    Note:
    • If the backlog contains more than 50 stories, then a pagination control appears at the bottom of the list enabling you to navigate to the first, last, previous, or next page in the list.
    • Rearranging stories in the backlog adjusts the ranking of stories in the global_rank column in the Story [rm_story] table. When you move a story within a backlog, its rank changes relative to the stories within the same backlog. Thus, if the story exists in some other backlog, its ranking might change, but position in the backlog would remain the same.
    • You require a specific role that provides access to a triaged record in the backlog. For example, to view a problem in the backlog, you must have the ITIL role. If you do not have access to any record, an error message appears.
  17. To perform an action at once on a set of stories:
    • Select the required stories.
    • Click Option menu icon and select any of the following options:
    OptionDescription
    Move to top Moves stories to the top of the Backlog list.
    Move to bottom Moves stories to the bottom of the Backlog list.
    Assigned to Opens the Users list. Select the user to whom you want to assign the stories.
    Assigned group Opens the Groups list. Select the group to which you want to assign the stories.
    Epic Opens the Epic list. Select the epic to which the stories belong.
    Product Opens the Product list. Select the product to which the stories belong.
    Project Opens the Project list. Select the project to which the stories belong.
    Project Phase Opens the Project Phase list. Select the project phase to which the stories belong.
    Release Opens the Scrum releases list. Select the release in which the stories are scheduled for completion.
    Theme Opens the Theme list. Select the theme to be applied on the stories.
Feedback