You can retire the latest published version of a knowledge article. Retiring a
knowledge article does not create a new version. It simply marks the article as
This action is available only when there is no checked out version. If a version has
been checked out, the Retire
button does not appear on the
Knowledge form header.
Note: For the Knowledge - Approval Retire workflow, this
happens only when the retire request is approved.
In addition to the knowledge administrator and the knowledge manager, the following
users can retire a versioned article:
- knowledge owner
- latest publisher of the versioned knowledge article
Users can still access outdated articles that have been attached to incidents by
navigating to the article view page with the sys_id of the article. Outdated
articles include a message that an updated article is available.
If versioning is disabled, only the latest version of the article is shown in search
results and list views.
Retired knowledge articles cannot be searched for by external users or customers. To
reuse a retired article, create a new article with the same content, which is
published once approved.