Create a new version of a knowledge article by checking out the latest published
Users with canContribute permissions, including the knowledge owner, knowledge
manager, and knowledge administrator, can check out a published article unless there is
already a checked out version. If a version has been checked out, the
Checkout button does not appear on the Knowledge form header.
When you check out an article, attachments from the article's base version are
copied into the new article version and relative paths to these attachments are also
Note: For article versions that were created in the previous releases,
the relative paths to the attachments may not be updated. To update them, activate
and run the Fix attachment links on article versions fix
Select the desired article from the list.
Click Checkout in the Knowledge form header.
The system creates a new version of the knowledge article and displays a
message to the user. The article number for the new version remains the same,
the version number is increased by 0.01, and the state changes to
Draft. The new version of the article is added to the
Knowledge list and to the Article Versions related list
on the Knowledge form.