ensures that a database view joins the Spotlight [spotlight] table and the facts table whose
records the Spotlight group evaluates. Administrators can access this database view to create
reports or for troubleshooting.
After creating the database view, Spotlight adds a reference to it in the related
spotlight_group record on
Spotlight Group [spotlight_groups] table. The reference consists of the primary key field value
of the database view, which is put in the database_view column of the record.
Note: Customers who upgrade from an earlier version
have an empty database_view value in the database_view column of their spotlight_groups records.
This empty column has no impact. The column is populated as users modify the records in the
If you are an administrator, you can access the database view directly. To see the database
view for a Spotlight Group, click the Show Database View related link on
the Spotlight Group form. You can also add a Database View column to the
Spotlight Groups list.
If you delete a Spotlight group, Spotlight deletes the database view associated with that group
if it is safe to do so. To determine whether the database view can be deleted, Spotlight checks
for the following conditions:
- Do any other Spotlight groups have a reference to that database view?
- Are any other Spotlight groups defined with a main indicator that uses the same facts table
as the main indicator of the group to be deleted?
If neither condition is true, the database view is deleted.
When creating, modifying, or deleting database views, Spotlight runs these business rules:
- Update Database View
- Delete Database View
- Set DB View on Insert