Share a dashboard with other users to create a shared view of data that you can use
to collaborate. You can give other users viewing rights or both viewing and editing
In general, when you share a dashboard, you are not granting permission to the
widgets on that dashboard. Most Performance Analytics widgets, however, inherit security
rules from the dashboards where they have been added. If you can view a dashboard, you
can see the Performance Analytics widgets on that dashboard.
- Users can share dashboards that they own with other groups and users.
- Only users with the admin, dashboard_admin, pa_admin, or pa_power_user role can
see roles in the Sharing panel.
- Users with the pa_admin or pa_power_user role can share dashboards that they can
- Users with the admin role can share any dashboard they can access.
Administrators can set two properties that affect how users share responsive
For more information, see Dashboard permissions
Note: Performance Analytics
widgets do not show the indicators that you do not have permission to read. While
the dashboard permission applies to the Performance Analytics
widget as a whole, individual indicators in that list follow the permissions for
those indicators. For more information about indicator permissions, see Control access to an indicator
The dashboard is shared and, if specified, an invitation is sent to the invited
Navigate to or .
Select the dashboard that you want to share from the dashboard picker on the
Click the Sharing icon () to open the Share panel.
Click Add groups and users (). Users who have the admin, pa_admin, dashboard_admin, or
pa_power_user roles can also see roles on the Share
Start typing the name in the To field.
Select a user, group, or role from the list that is shown.
From the Recipients list, select Can
view or Can edit to specify the
permissions the user, group, or role has on the dashboard. When a person you
have shared the dashboard with goes to the Dashboard Overview, they will see
either Viewer or Editor as their role with respect to the dashboard.
To edit a shared dashboard, a user must be in the same domain as
the dashboard. Sharing a dashboard with write access (Can
) does not change that. The Can
sharing option works only if the dashboard is shared
with a user in the same domain as the dashboard. For more information, see
Domain separation in Dashboards
Clear the Send an email invitation check box.
You can choose not to send an email message. For example, if the recipients
are already aware the dashboard has been shared with them.
Compose an addition to the default email invitation message. The default email
message reads "The dashboard <Name of Dashboard> has been shared with you by
and open the Dashboard Sharing Notification. For more