Thank you for your feedback.
Form temporarily unavailable. Please try again or contact to submit your comments.

Service Level Management concepts

Log in to subscribe to topics and get notified when content changes.

Service Level Management concepts

The ServiceNow® Service Level Management (SLM) application enables you to monitor and manage the quality of the services offered by your organization.

Service Level Managers are responsible for a set of agreements between a service provider and customer that define the scope, quality, and speed of the services being provided. The intention of SLM is to provide the customer with an expectation of service within a known timescale and the ability to monitor when service levels are not being met.

SLM can be used across the organization in departments such as HR, Facilities, and IT to track how internal and external teams are performing against their agreed service levels.

The SLM offers the following features:
  • Service Level Agreement (SLA) definitions
  • Task SLAs
  • Integration with other ServiceNow plugins

Service Level Agreement (SLA) roles

Ensure that users can perform all necessary actions by assigning SLA roles.
Role Definition
sla_admin Provides full administrative rights to SLM. Users that possess the sla_admin role can configure SLM properties, run SLA repair, view the SLA Overview dashboard, and manage SLA definitions. They may associate existing workflows or schedules to SLA definitions, but are unable to create workflows. The additional roles required to create workflows or schedules must be granted explicitly. See Base system roles for more information.
sla_manager Lets users define SLA definitions, view SLA repair logs, and view the SLA Overview dashboard. Does not let users change SLM property values or define SLA condition types.

Service Level Agreement (SLA) definitions

Use the SLA Definition record to define a specific set of criteria that would result in an SLA being generated. Define some of the following parameters:
  • Table: The task table that the SLA is defined for.
  • Duration: The time duration in which the service must be provided to the customer.
  • Schedule: The schedule, which indicates valid working and non-working days that the service provider follows to deliver the service. The selected schedule is used to determine when the SLA breaches.
  • Conditions: The conditions under which the SLA starts, pauses, stops, or resets.

Task SLAs

When an SLA definition is triggered against a particular task, the task SLA record is generated and contains all the tracking data for the specific SLA on that record. For example, if an SLA definition exists for P1 incidents a task SLA record attaches to the P1 incident record and captures all the data associated with it. Often there are multiple task SLA records against a single task because many definitions apply.

Note: This feature is available only in new instances starting with Jakarta or a later release.
On the Task SLA form, you can also select the target for the SLA: Response, Resolution, or None.

Integration with other ServiceNow plugins

The following plugins introduce extra functionality within SLM:
  • SLA Contract Add-on
  • Service Portfolio Management - SLA Commitments