Thank you for your feedback.
Form temporarily unavailable. Please try again or contact docfeedback@servicenow.com to submit your comments.

Delete an application

Log in to subscribe to topics and get notified when content changes.

Delete an application

As an administrator, you can delete custom applications that are no longer needed.

Before you begin

  • To ensure that you can reinstall the application at a later time, first publish a backup of your application to the ServiceNow application repository, ServiceNow Store, or an update set. See Application sharing.

Role required: admin

About this task

Typically, you only delete applications that have never been shared with other instances. This process ensures that the system can support any published applications. When you delete a application, all the records that are associated with the application, such as tables, business rules, and menus, are also deleted.

Procedure

  1. Log in to the instance in which you want to delete the installed application.
  2. Navigate to System Applications > Applications.
  3. Click the name or icon of the application that you want to delete.
  4. In the application record, click Delete.
    A confirmation dialog box appears, indicating if any application files are associated with the application you are deleting.
  5. Click the appropriate option.
    OptionDescription
    Show Files Navigate to a listing of files associated with the application record. Review this listing and determine how to remove the files before deleting the application itself.
    Delete Delete the selected application.
    Cancel Cancel deletion of the files associated with the selected application.
  6. In the confirmation dialog box, enter delete and click OK.
    Another confirmation dialog box appears, indicating the progress of the deletion. If any remaining metadata files are associated with the application record, the system prevents its deletion until all associated files are removed.

Result

Unless the application extends other applications, or files are still associated with the application, the system deletes the application.
Feedback