Activate Connect

Connect is active by default on new instances. For upgraded instances, you can activate the Connect plugin (com.glide.connect) if you have the admin role.

Before you begin

Role required: admin

About this task

If you used Collaboration in the Fuji release, the Connect plugin is activated automatically.


  1. Navigate to System Definition > Plugins.
  2. Find and click the plugin name.
  3. On the System Plugin form, review the plugin details and then click the Activate/Upgrade related link.

    If the plugin depends on other plugins, these plugins are listed along with their activation status.

    If the plugin has optional features that depend on other plugins, those plugins are listed under Some files will not be loaded because these plugins are inactive. The optional features are not installed until the listed plugins are installed (before or after the installation of the current plugin).

  4. (Optional) If available, select the Load demo data check box.

    Some plugins include demo data—Sample records that are designed to illustrate plugin features for common use cases. Loading demo data is a good practice when you first activate the plugin on a development or test instance.

    You can also load demo data after the plugin is activated by clicking the Load Demo Data Only related link on the System Plugin form.

  5. Click Activate.

Properties installed with Connect

Connect adds the following system properties.
Note: To open the System Property [sys_properties] table, enter sys_properties.list in the navigation filter.
Name Description
collaboration.email_interval Sets the number of minutes the system waits before sending a Connect notification email to an inactive user.
collaboration.frameset Determines whether the Connect overlay is visible (enabled). This property also impacts Connect Support.
collaboration.polling_interval Sets the number of seconds the system waits between polling for new Connect messages. This property also impacts Connect Support.
  • Type: integer
  • Default value: 10
  • Location: System Property [sys_properties] table
connect.notification.audio_alert Specifies the audio file to play to notify users of new messages, support conversation transfers, and @mentions in Connect. This property's value must point to the Name field of a record in the Audio File [db_audio] table. This property also impacts Connect Support.
connect.retrieve_external_link_content Enables Connect to render URLs for external sites as links. When this property is disabled, URLs that point anywhere outside the instance appear as plain text. This property also impacts Connect Support.
  • Type: true | false
  • Default value: true
  • Location: Collaborate > Administration > Properties
connect.roles Determines which user roles are required to access Connect. When the value is blank, no role is required. This property also impacts Connect Support.
Note: If you choose to restrict Connect access to specific roles, consider updating the role requirements for Connect modules and other access points.
  • Type: string
  • Default value: <empty>
  • Location: Collaborate > Administration > Properties
glide.connect.enabled Hides the Create or Join Chat Room related link, which appears on the Incident form when legacy chat is enabled. Legacy chat and Connect Chat should not be used concurrently and this property should not be modified.
  • Type: true | false
  • Default value: true
  • Location: Collaborate > Administration > Properties Disables and hides all UI elements related to Connect.
  • Type: true | false
  • Default value: false
  • Location: System Property [sys_properties] table
glide.live_feed.task_header_button Determines whether the show live feed icon (Show live feed icon) and Follow button are available in the form header of tables that have the live_feed=true dictionary attribute.
  • Type: choice list
  • Default value: collaboration
  • Other possible values:
    • both: enables both the show live feed icon and the Follow button.
    • live_feed: enables the show live feed icon.
    • none: disables both the show live feed icon and the Follow button.
  • Location: Collaborate > Administration > Properties
  • Learn more: Configure record conversations