Thank you for your feedback.
Form temporarily unavailable. Please try again or contact docfeedback@servicenow.com to submit your comments.
Versions
  • London
  • Kingston
  • Jakarta
  • Istanbul
  • Helsinki
  • Geneva
  • Store
Close

Subscription user sets

Subscription user sets

You define the criteria for a user to become a member of a user set (for example, all fulfiller users in the IT department). When you add a user set to a subscription, the system attempts to subscribe all users in the user set.

Auto-sync

The system updates the members in a user set whenever a user update causes the user to meet or fail to meet the criteria for the user set. For example, if a user loses the "fulfiller user" role, the user is removed from the user set.

To make subscriptions self-maintaining, you can auto-sync a subscription. The system then regularly subscribes or unsubscribes users based on updates to the user sets that are assigned to the subscription. The option is described in Auto-sync a subscription to user set updates.

Note: Even if you select the Auto-sync with user sets option, you can update, remove, or manually synchronize the user set at any time.

How users are subscribed and unsubscribed

  • When you add a user set to a subscription, the system allocates all users in the user set to the subscription, up to the purchased subscription limit.
  • You can add a user set to any number of subscriptions.
  • Users that are allocated from multiple user sets are subscribed only one time.
  • In the case that adding the users would exceed the subscription limit, then none of the users in the user set are subscribed. Instead, all users in the user set are set to the Pending state and are listed in the Pending Users related list.
  • When you remove a user set from a subscription, the system attempts to unsubscribe all users in the set. If a user is added from another user set, however, the user is not unsubscribed.
  • Users that the usage admin has flagged as excluded are not allocated, even if other members of the user set are allocated. The usage admin can unexclude a user so that the user can be allocated.

Why a user is not subscribed when you add a user set

  • The user set is empty (contains no users).
  • The user had been excluded from the subscription.
  • The user had already been directly allocated
  • Another user set added the user (duplicate user)
  • A user could not be allocated because adding the user would exceed the subscription limit. In this case, all users in the user set are set to the Pending state. The names of the users are listed in the Pending Users related list.

Why a user is not unsubscribed when you remove a user set

  • The user set is empty (contains no users).
  • The user was already directly allocated
  • The user is added from another user set