Publish a report

Publish a report to create a URL that anyone can use to access the report, including people who are not users. When anyone navigates to the URL, the report is generated with current data from the instance. Reports are available until they are unpublished.

Before you begin

Role required: both the report_publisher and itil role, report_admin, or admin

About this task

There are limitations to what users see when they follow the publish URL for a report:
  • Data that is visualized as a graphic report and not limited by business rules is always visible in published reports. Graphic reports are all reports except for list reports.
  • Read ACLs govern the content of list reports. Users cannot see records for which they do not have access.
Users with the admin or report_admin role can see if a report has been published. Navigate to Reports > View / Run, open the report, and click the Sharing icon (reference sharing icon). If the Sharing menu has the Publish option, the report is not yet published. If the Sharing menu has the Unpublish option, the report has been published.
Note: To make a report available only to logged in users, set its Sharing setting to Everyone, but do not publish it.

Procedure

  1. Navigate to Reports > View / Run.
  2. Click the report you want to publish.
  3. In the upper right side of the report form, click the Sharing icon (reference sharing icon) and select Publish.
    A link icon (link icon) shows with the Report option icons message. Click this icon to show a link to the published report. This link is available as long as the report is published. See Report options.
    Note: Business rules may affect how records are collected for public reports. For more information, see Business rules.

Unpublish a report

Published reports are available at the published URL until you unpublish them.

Before you begin

Role required: both the report_publisher and itil role, report_admin, or admin

Procedure

  1. Navigate to Reports > View / Run.
  2. Select the report you want to unpublish.
  3. From the upper right side of the report form, click the Sharing icon (reference sharing icon) and select Unpublish.

Result

The report is no longer published and the link icon (link icon) is removed from the report designer for the unpublished report.