Thank you for your feedback.
Form temporarily unavailable. Please try again or contact docfeedback@servicenow.com to submit your comments.
Versions
  • London
  • Kingston
  • Jakarta
  • Istanbul
  • Helsinki
  • Geneva
  • Store
Close

Software installation optimization and removal

Software installation optimization and removal

You can optimize your environment by reclaiming unused software as well as removing unauthorized software in your environment.

If a user is not using software installed, or very infrequently, that software can be a candidate for removal (uninstalled and allocated to an individual who will use it more often). Removal candidates are used to reclaim software installations.

Software reclamation is integrated with Workflow and Client Software Distribution (CSD) to automate the process of uninstalling software from devices and reclaiming those software rights. During the workflow, the state of the removal candidate changes based on the progression within the workflow.

A scheduled job is run monthly and a removal candidate is automatically created for each software install that violates a reclamation rule. Another scheduled job to identify blacklisted software installs is run daily.

In each list of Removal Candidates, you can select individual records for reclamation, or Reclaim All to reclaim all qualifying removal candidates. Qualifying candidates are those in the Ready state.

Removal candidate grouping and state

Removal candidates are grouped according to justification.
  • Low Usage

    Software Asset > Removal Candidates > Reclamation Candidates

  • Blacklisted

    Software Asset > Removal Candidates > Blacklisted Installations

  • All other justifications (Unlicensed, Unallocated, for example)

    Software Asset > Removal Candidates > Other Candidates

Table 1. Removal candidate state
State Description
Attention Required A removal candidate requires attention if the User field is empty on an automatic removal candidate that has the Notify User check box selected.

Once the User field is populated, the state automatically changes to Ready.

Ready When a removal candidate is in the Ready state, you can click Reclaim to advance the workflow.
Awaiting User If the Notify User check box was selected, the user was sent a notification of the removal candidate to approve or deny.
Awaiting Approval If the Notify User check box was selected, the user can approve or deny the removal candidate. If the user still wants to keep the software installation, it becomes the responsibility of the manager to approve or decline the removal.
Awaiting Revocation The final step in the workflow. You can click Close Complete to reclaim software rights in the removal candidate manually.

Otherwise, a weekly scheduled job (named Updating Existing Reclamation Candidates) automatically updates removal candidates in Awaiting Revocation state AND with the software install field empty to Closed Complete state.

If the removal candidate is in any other state AND the software install is empty, the Reclamation workflow is canceled and it is updated to Closed Skipped state.

Closed Complete Software rights have been reclaimed.
Closed Skipped Software rights have not been reclaimed by the removal candidate.

Blacklisted justification and unlicensed justification

Workflows for removal candidates with a blacklisted justification or an unlicensed justification get executed automatically. The user is notified of unauthorized software use and is not prompted for approval.
  • Blacklisted:

    Unauthorized Software Use

    [Publisher] [Product] installed on the device, [device name], is not authorized to be used on company property. Do not install this software again.

  • Unlicensed:

    Unauthorized Software Use

    You are not licensed to use [Publisher] [Product] installed on the device, [device name]. Use the appropriate process to request a license for the software.

The workflow state for a blacklisted justification and an unlicensed justification is then set to Awaiting Revocation and, once discovery identifies that the installation no longer exists, the state is changed to Closed Complete.

Unallocated justification and Low Usage justification

Workflows for removal candidates with an unallocated justification or a low usage justification prompt the user for approval.
  • Unallocated:

    [Publisher] [Product] installed on the device, [device name], has been flagged for removal because an allocation to use the software does not exist. Do you still require access to this software?

  • Low Usage:

    [Publisher] [Product] has been flagged for reclamation. Do you still need this software installed on [device name]?

Justification descriptions

Removal candidate descriptions get updated based on the justification.

  • Unallocated:

    [Publisher] [Product] installed on the device, [device name], has been flagged for removal because an allocation to use the software does not exist. If you do not require this software, Reject this task. If you still require access to this software, Approve this task and your request for continued use of the software will be routed for software manager approval.

  • Unlicensed:

    [Publisher] [Product] installed on the device, [device name], has been flagged for removal because the licenses to use it are not owned. Please request access to this software through the appropriate process.

  • Blacklisted:

    [Publisher] [Product] installed on the device, [device name], is not authorized for use on company owned property.

  • Low Usage:

    [Publisher] [Product] installed on the device, [device name], has been flagged for reclamation due to low usage. If you do not require this software, Reject this task. If you still require access to this software, Approve this task and your request for continued use of the software will be routed for manager approval.

When the Reclaim action is clicked, if the Notify User field is selected and the days before reclamation is greater than 0, then the state is set to Awaiting User. Otherwise the state is set to Awaiting Reclamation.

When the state changes to Awaiting User, a notification is sent to the user.

This site is scheduled for a small content update on Tuesday, December 18th, between the hours of 4:00pm and 8:00pm Pacific Time (Dec 19 00:00 – Dec 19 4:00 UTC). Access to this site may be slightly delayed during that time.