You can retire the latest published version of a knowledge article. Retiring a
knowledge article does not create a new version. It simply marks the article as
This action is available only when there is no checked out version. If a version has
been checked out, the Retire
button does not appear on the
Knowledge form header.
Note: For the Knowledge - Approval Retire workflow, this
happens only when the retire request is approved.
In addition to the knowledge administrator and the knowledge manager, the following
users can retire a versioned article:
- knowledge owner
- author of the versioned knowledge article
- reviser of the versioned knowledge article
Users can still access outdated articles that have been attached to incidents by
navigating to the article view page with the sys_id of the article. Outdated
articles include a message that an updated article is available.
If versioning is disabled, only the latest version of the article is shown in search
results and list views.