Resolve a skipped update

To prevent your customizations from being overwritten during system upgrades, the upgrade process skips (does not apply the update to) objects that have been customized. One of your responsibilities as the administrator is to resolve each skipped update after an upgrade.

Before you begin

Role required: admin

About this task

You resolve an update by either retaining the customization or (when the software upgrade contains a feature that you would like to implement) by merging or overwriting the customization with the base system update.
Note: Objects that are customized and that did not change in the base system since the last upgrade require no action on your part.

When an object is customized, the system adds a corresponding record to the Customer Updates [sys_update_xml] table and then maintains current version information for all customized objects. The upgrade process skips changes to objects that have a current version in the Customer Updates table. When you follow the procedure, you perform one of the following actions:

  • Retain (keep) a customization with no changes
  • Retain a customization by merging changes from the updated object
  • Revert a customized object to the updated version (that is, overwrite the customization)
  • Review the skip and perform no action on the object

Procedure

  1. Navigate to System Diagnostics > Upgrade History.
  2. Select the desired software version.
  3. In the Upgrade Details related list, select the update record to resolve.
    Note: By default, the list is filtered by Disposition = Skipped and Resolution Status = Not Reviewed. The Priority value is color-coded with red for P1 and green for P5 priority.
  4. Review the list of changes. For text fields, you can click in the field to open the Diff/Merge tool. The File differences field displays a side-by-side comparison of the customization and the update version. Deletions are highlighted red, additions green, and changes yellow. Review the differences. Click a text box to view and edit the detailed differences.
  5. Perform one of the following actions. You have the option to add a Comment to any record, for example, to explain the action to future reviewers.
    OptionAction
    Retain the customization with no changes After reviewing the changes, set Resolution Status to Reviewed and Retained.
    Retain the customization by merging changes from the updated object Review the differences. To merge a field, click the right-arrow button for the field. Click a text box to view and edit the detailed differences. When you have merged all appropriate fields, click Merge.
    • The Disposition changes from Skipped to Merged.
    • The Resolution Status changes to Reviewed and Merged.
    Overwrite the customization by reverting the customized object to the updated system default version After reviewing the changes, click Revert to Base System.
    • The Disposition changes from Skipped to Reverted.
    • The Resolution Status changes to Reviewed and Reverted.
    • The system creates a Customer Update record
    Note: At any time after you revert a customization, you can click Reapply Changes to reapply the customization (undo the revert).
    Review the skip and perform no action on the object After reviewing the changes, set Resolution Status to Reviewed.
  6. Click Update. Repeat the process to resolve each update record in the list.

Result

Only skipped updates with a Resolution Status of Not Reviewed appear in the Upgrade Details related list. Any action you take that changes the Resolution Status to a value other than Not Reviewed removes the skipped update from list.