User preferences

Individual users can configure many UI features, such as the number of rows per page in a list or whether the response time displays at the bottom of a v2 list or form.

These user customizations are stored as records in the User Preference [sys_user_preference] table, and are updated each time the user changes the setting.

The UI displays according to each user's preferences.

For example, by default the response time may appear at the bottom of v2 lists and forms. If a user hides the response time, a user preference record is created showing the response time indicator as hidden. During the user's future sessions, the response time indicator is hidden. If the same user later displays the response time, the user preference record is updated appropriately and future sessions open with the response time indicator visible.

Navigate to User Administration > User Preferences for a list of user preference records. Click a preference name to display that preference in form view.

Figure 1. User Preferences form
User preferences

Each user preference record includes these fields.

Table 1. User preference fields
Field Description
Name The name of the feature or functionality.
Description An optional short description of the feature or functionality.
System Shows whether this record indicates the system-wide default (TRUE), or not (FALSE).
Type Shows the data type of entry accepted for the Value. For example, you can select string or integer.
User Shows the name of the user for whom the setting is customized. If User is blank, the record is for a system-wide default.
Value The current setting for this record. Compare this value to the User field and System field to determine whether the value shown is a system-wide default or a specific user’s preference.

Records for the system-wide value, which applies to users who have not customized the feature, have these values: System=True and User=blank. For each user who customizes the features, a separate record is created with these values: System=False and User=<username>. As a result, the same customizable UI feature may have multiple user preference records.

For some features, the system-wide record does not appear in the User Preferences module initially. The system-wide record may be added to the User Preferences list when a user record is created for the same feature.

When an administrator manually changes a user's preference value through this module, the user's next session uses the administrator's setting. However, the user can customize the features again through the UI, which updates their user preference record. If the administrator deletes the user preference record for a particular user, that user's next session uses the system-wide value for that feature. When the user later customizes the feature, the system creates a user preference record for the user.

User preferences and update sets

User preference records for system-wide values, also called the default or global values, are stored in update sets. Any changes are implemented when you import the update set and affect all users who have not customized the feature. User preference records for specific users are not stored in update sets, so user customizations are retained when you import an update set.