Close a work order

The Field Service Management application closes work orders automatically depending on the states of the associated work order tasks.

There are two types of closure available for work orders:
  • The work order state changes to Closed Complete if all work order tasks are marked Closed Complete.
  • The work order state changes to Closed Incomplete if at least one work order task is marked Closed Incomplete.
When a work order is closed, the following takes place:
  • Time and effort are calculated automatically.
  • The work order becomes inactive and is removed from the list of work orders.
After an order has been assigned to an agent, that agent can complete and close the order under two conditions:
  • When the Request lifecycle is task driven configuration option is enabled, all states of the work order are driven by the task. The agent can click the Close Complete button on the Work Order Task form to close any tasks that need to be closed manually. After all of the work order's tasks are closed, the work order is closed automatically.
  • When the Request lifecycle is request driven configuration option is set and all of the work order's tasks are closed, the agent can click the Close Complete button on the Request form to close and complete the order.