User sets

You define the criteria for a user to become a member of a user set (for example, all fulfiller users in the IT department). When you add a user set to a subscription, the system attempts to subscribe all users in the user set.

Auto-sync

The system updates the members in a user set whenever a user update causes the user to meet or fail to meet the criteria for the user set. For example, if a user loses the "fulfiller user" role, the user is removed from the user set.

To make subscriptions self-maintaining, you can auto-sync a subscription. The system then regularly subscribes or unsubscribes users based on updates to the user sets that are assigned to the subscripiton. The option is described in Auto-sync a subscription to user set updates.

Note: Even if you select the Auto-sync with user sets option, you can update, remove, or manually synchronize the user set at any time.

How users are subscribed and unsubscribed

  • You can add a user set to any number of subscriptions.
  • Users that are allocated from multiple user sets are subscribed only one time.
  • In the case that adding the users would exceed the subscription limit, then none of the users in the user set are subscribed. Instead, all users in the user set are set to Pending status and are listed in the Pending Users related list.
  • When you remove a user set from a subscription, the system attempts to unsubscribe all users in the set. If a user is added from another user set, however, the user is not unsubscribed.

Why a user is not subscribed when you add a user set

  • The user set is empty (contains no users).
  • The user had been excluded from the subscription.
  • The user had already been allocated directly
  • Another user set added the user (duplicate user)
  • A user could not be allocated because adding the user would exceed the subscription limit. In this case, all users in the user set are set to Pending status. The names of the users are listed in the Pending Users related list.

Why a user is not unsubscribed when you remove a user set

  • The user set is empty (contains no users).
  • The user was already allocated directly
  • The user is added from another user set