Create a report

Create a report to visualize and analyze current instance data.

About this task

Procedure

  1. Follow one of these paths:
    OptionDescription
    Create a report Navigate to Reports > Create New.
    Edit an existing report Navigate to Reports > View / Run and click the edit icon (The edit icon) beside the report name.
    Create a report on a dashboard Navigate to the dashboard where you want to add the report, click the Add Widgets icon (Plus sign button), and select Reports.
    Edit a report on a dashboard Navigate to the dashboard where the report resides and click Edit. To edit a report, click the Add Widgets icon (Plus sign button), and then click the edit icon (Pencil) of the report you want to edit.
  2. On the Configure and Style tabs, fill in the fields, as appropriate.
  3. Click Save.

    The report is generated.

    Note: For details on creating a specific report type, see Report types and creation details.

Report options

Use the report options menu above any report to manage the report. For example, you can save, share, publish, or export the report. All reporting options are described in following table.

Note: Some options appear in this menu before you save a report. All of the options available to you will appear after you save the report.
Figure 1. Report options Save menu
Report options save menu
Table 1. Report Options
Name Description
Run Creates the report according to the information in the form.
Save Saves any changes to the form and leaves the form open.
Update Saves any changes to the form and returns to the Reports list.
Insert Duplicates the report record, inserts it into the Reports list, and opens the Reports list. Use this option to create a new report quickly by changing a few values in an existing report. Be sure to give the new report a unique name.
Insert and Stay Duplicates the report record, inserts it into the Reports list, and opens the new record. Use this option to create a new report quickly by changing a few values in an existing report. Be sure to give the new report a unique name. Starting with the Fuji release.
Publish Creates a URL for the report and displays the address above the report form. You can email this URL to people who must view the report.
Delete Deletes the report.
Schedule Creates a schedule for running the report. You cannot schedule calendar reports.
Add to Dashboard Adds the current report to a dashboard or homepage.
Note: Users can add reports to any homepage they can view. Users who do not have edit rights to a homepage create new homepages with the added information when they modify a homepage that they don't own. This does not apply to dashboards.
Sharing Opens a dialog box in which you can change the sharing settings.
Export settings Opens a dialog box in which you can change the export settings.
Export to PDF Generate a PDF of the report that you can download or email. This option is not available for calendar reports.
Note: Drilldown reports do not export to PDF. If you select Export to PDF on a drilldown, a PDF of the top level report is generated.
Save as report source Opens the Create new Report Source window in which you can save the report conditions as a report source that can be reused for other reports.
Report history Shows general information for the report, such as the table the report is based on, the report type, who created the report, when the report was last modified, and whether the report is scheduled or published. Other statistical information for the report is also shown, such as when it was last run, the number of runs, runs on home page, recent run time, and overall run time.

Copy a report

Copying the report enables users who cannot create their own global reports to modify a global report, and then save a personal version of the report. For example, if you do not have the rights to modify a global report, you can make a personal copy of that report.

Before you begin

Role required: itil, report_group, report_global, report_admin, or admin.

About this task

If you save a global report as a group or personal report, the ServiceNow platform copies the report rather than changing its security state.

If you open a personal report and try to save it as a group or global report, ServiceNow changes the security state rather than copying the report.

Procedure

  1. Navigate to Reports > View / Run.
  2. Select the report you want to copy.
  3. Click the arrow next to Save.
  4. Select Insert and Stay.
    Figure 2. Insert and stay
    Save menu insert and stay
    This creates a copy of the report that you can modify.
  5. Modify the report. See Report types and creation details.
  6. (Optional) Change the report's visibility. In the upper right side of the report form, click the Sharing icon (reference sharing icon) and select Share. See Share a report.

Delete a report

Delete reports that are no longer used.

Before you begin

You must be the creator or an administrator of the report to delete it.

Procedure

  1. Navigate to Reports > View / Run.
  2. Select the report to delete.
  3. When the report opens, click the arrow next to the Save button and select Delete.
  4. Confirm that you want to delete the report.

Result

The selected report is removed, and is no longer available to share, publish, or view.