Share a report

Control which users and groups can see a report in their reports list.

About this task

You can control who sees reports by making them:
  • Globally visible to all users.
  • Visible only to the report creator.
  • Visible to one or more specific users.
  • Visible to one or more specific groups.
Note: The permissions of a report can constrain the number of users or groups you can share a report with. For more information, see Restrict report creation with an ACL rule.

ACLs control access to the underlying table data. List reports require the reporting user to satisfy ACLs on the target table to view records in the list. Users without sufficient permissions may see filtered list reports.

Reports that present aggregate data, such as pie or bar charts, do not require the user to satisfy target table ACLs to view the chart. These reports are not filtered due to security, though may be filtered by an on-query business rule defined for the target table. ACLs are required to view the list of records when you click on a portion of a chart.

If a user saves global report as a group or personal report, the ServiceNow platform copies the report rather than moving it from one security state to another. This allows users who cannot create their own global reports to modify a global report, and then save their own personal version of the report.

If a user opens a personal report and tries to save it as a group or global report, ServiceNow moves the report rather than copying it.

Procedure

  1. Click the arrow next to the Save button to open the Report Options menu and select Sharing.
  2. In the Sharing settings dialog box, fill in the fields and click Close.
    Table 1. Sharing settings
    Field Description
    Visible to
    Users to whom the report is available:
    • Me allows only the report creator to view the report. Users who did not create the report cannot set it to Me.
    • Everyone allows all users to view the report. Specific roles can be assigned for viewing reports under Everyone, so access can be restricted.
    • Groups and Users allows only specific groups and users to see the report.

    Groups and Users is visible to users with the report_group role.

    Groups

    Groups whose members are authorized to see the report.

    This field is available when Groups and Users is selected.

    Users

    Users who are authorized to see the report.

    This field is available when Groups and Users is selected.

  3. Click the arrow next to the Save button to open the Report Options menu and select Add to Dashboard or Publish.
  4. Share the dashboard or share the URL of the published report with the user, role, or group with whom you have shared the report. See Control access to a non-responsive dashboard and Restrict responsive dashboard access to specific roles.
    The people with whom you share the report must have rights to view the report data.