Thank you for your feedback.
Form temporarily unavailable. Please try again or contact docfeedback@servicenow.com to submit your comments.
Versions
  • London
  • Kingston
  • Jakarta
  • Istanbul
  • Helsinki
  • Geneva
  • Store
Close

User sets: How users are subscribed and unsubscribed

User sets: How users are subscribed and unsubscribed

A user set is a pool of users (for example, all fulfiller users from the IT department) that you define. When you add a user set to a subscription for a particular ServiceNow application suite, all users in the set are subscribed to the suite.

How users are subscribed and unsubscribed

  • When you add a user set to a subscription, the system attempts to subscribe all users in the user set to the subscription.
  • Users that are added from multiple user sets are allocated only one time.
  • In the case that adding the users would exceed the subscription limit, then none of the users in the user set are subscribed. Instead, all users in the user set are set to Pending status and are listed on the Pending Users tab.
  • When you remove a user set from a subscription, the system attempts to unsubscribe all users in the set. If a user is added from another user set, the user is not unsubscribed.
  • You can configure the Auto-sync with user sets option for any subscription to periodically check all associated user sets for updates and then update the list of subscribed users.
  • If you select the Auto-sync with user sets option, then you can add users to or remove users from a user set at any time.
  • If you do not select the Auto-sync with user sets option, you can manually synchronize the user set to update the list of subscribed users

Why one or more users are not allocated when you add a user set to a subscription

  • The user set is empty (contains no users).
  • The user had been excluded from the subscription.
  • The user had already been allocated directly
  • The user had already been added by another user set (duplicate user)
  • A user could not be allocated because adding the user would exceed the subscription limit. In this case, all users in the user set are set to Pending status. The names of the users are listed on the Pending Users tab.

Why one or more users are not be unsubscribed when you remove a user set from a subscription

  • The user set is empty (contains no users).
  • The user had already been allocated directly
  • The user is added from another user set