Publish a custom activity When a user creates a custom activity and saves or submits it, that activity appears in the Custom and Packs tabs of the designer palette, but is visible only to the user who created it. When you finish configuring the activity, click Publish. This makes the activity accessible to other users on the instance with the workflow_admin or activity_creator role. Published activities are available for upload to the ServiceNow Store, can be added to workflows, and can be edited by any user with the proper roles. To edit a published activity, click Checkout. When an activity is checked out by a user, only that user can modify it. The fields of a checked out activity are read-only for all other users. When you are finished editing the checked out activity, publish it again. The system adds a new version of this activity to the Custom tab in the workflow editor palette.Note: Activities you create and publish are visible in the Packs tab only if they were created in the current application scope. Return a locked activity to a published stateProblems can arise if an activity version is checked out by a user and not checked back in. An activity in this state cannot be checked out for update.