CI reclassification

During the CI identification process, a CI might need to be reclassified to a different sys_class_name type. By default, CIs are reclassified automatically. If automatic reclassification is disabled, then the CI is not reclassified and the system generates a reclassification task for your review.

A CI can be upgraded to a higher class, downgraded to a lower class, or switched to a different branch in the class hierarchy. For more details about reclassification operations, see Reclassify a CI. You can configure CI reclassification behavior at a system-wide level or individually per CI.

Enabling and disabling automatic CI reclassification

You can use the glide.class.upgrade.enabled, glide.class.downgrade.enabled, and glide.class.switch.enabled properties to configure system-wide behavior for CI reclassification. These properties are set to true by default, enabling automatic re-classification. To disable automatic CI re-classification, set the respective properties to false.

Alternatively, in the input payload of the createOrUpdateCI() API you can temporarily override a false value of the glide.class.upgrade.enabled property for individual CIs. In the payload, set these properties to true to enable automatic reclassification.
  • classUpgrade
  • classDowngrade
  • classSwitch

The following sample JSON payload enables automatic reclassification for the specified CI:

{ items: [{className: 'cmdb_ci_server', classUpgrade: true, classDowngrade: true, classSwitch: true, values: {name: 'linux123', serial_number: '12srt567', ip_address: '10.2.3.4'}, }]}