Delete a snapshot

You can delete a snapshot to free up disk space.

Before you begin

Role required: cloud_user, cloud_admin

About this task

Note: The system auto-deletes the oldest snapshot when the Snapshot eviction policy limit is exceeded. See Configure snapshots to happen on a schedule.

Procedure

  1. Open the list of VMs.
    User RoleAction
    cloud operator or cloud_admin For your provider; Amazon AWS Cloud or Microsoft Azure Cloud: Navigate to Manage Resources > Virtual Machine Instances.
    cloud_user Navigate to Self Service > My Virtual Assets and click the My <provider> Assets tab.
  2. In the Virtual Assets that I manage report, select a virtual resource.
  3. Under Related Links, click Delete a Snapshot.

    A dialog box lists the current snapshots and indicates whether change control applies.

  4. Select the snapshot and click OK.

    If change control is not enabled, the snapshot is immediately deleted. If change control is enabled, the snapshot is deleted after approval.