Location tracking

Geolocation adds the Geolocation tracked field to the User form. In the default view of a user record, select the Geolocation tracked check box to enable location tracking for the user.

When a user has geolocation tracking enabled, the system updates the user's geographic coordinates whenever the user opens, or loads, a record from the Task [task] table or from a table that extends Task. After this initial update, the system continues to update the user's geographic coordinates at a recurring interval if the user does not close or reload the record. To edit the length of this interval, navigate to Geolocation > Administration > Geolocation Properties and change the setting for the property that regulates the update interval for the user's location. The default setting for this property is 300 seconds (5 minutes).

Note: The system can update geographic coordinates only for users who have location services enabled in their browsers. Even users who have the Geolocation tracked check box selected may be prompted by their browsers to share or withhold their location.