Configure cascade delete rules

When a record is deleted, there are different options for how the deletion will affect records that reference the deleted record. You can configure what happens to records that reference a record when that record is deleted.

Before you begin

Role required: personalize_dictionary

About this task

For example, if you delete a user record that is referenced in the Caller ID field on several incident records, you can configure what happens to those incident records. By default, the references are cleared, so the incident records are maintained with an empty Caller ID field.

Procedure

  1. Navigate to a reference field on a form.
  2. Right-click the field label and select Configure Dictionary.
  3. Under Related Links, click Advanced view.
  4. Locate the Reference Specification section.
  5. In the Reference cascade rule field, select one of the following options.
    OptionDescription
    Clear or -- None -- Deleting a record clears references (default option).
    Delete or Cascade Deleting a record also deletes all referencing records. For example, when a user record is deleted, any incidents assigned to the user are also deleted.
    Caution: Use this method with caution.
    Restrict Deleting a record is restricted unless there are no references to the record. For example, prevent the user record from being deleted if any incident includes a reference to the user. This option has no effect for tables with m2m relationships, meaning that in this example, if the tables have an m2m relationship, the user record is deleted.
    None Deleting a record does not change records that reference the record.
  6. Click Update.