Share a report

Control which users and groups can see a report in their Reports list.

About this task

You can control who sees reports by making them:
  • Globally visible to all users
  • Visible only to the report creator
  • Visible to one or more specific users
  • Visible to one or more specific groups
Note: The permissions of a report can constrain the number of users or groups you can share a report with. For more information, seeRestrict report creation with an ACL rule Restrict report creation with an ACL rule.

ACLs control access to the underlying table data. List reports require the reporting user to satisfy ACLs on the target table to view records in the list. Users without sufficient permissions may see filtered list reports.

Reports that present aggregate data, such as pie or bar charts, do not require the user to satisfy target table ACLs to view the chart. These reports are not filtered due to security, though may be filtered by an on-query business rule defined for the target table. ACLs are required to view the list of records when you click on a portion of a chart.

Procedure

  1. Navigate to Reports > View / Run and select the report you want to control.
  2. In the upper right side of the report form, click the Sharing icon (reference sharing icon) and select Share.
  3. In the Sharing settings dialog box, fill in the fields and click OK.
    Table 1. Sharing settings
    Field Description
    Visible to
    Users to whom the report is available. You can select the following options:
    • Me allows only you to view the report. This option is only available to you on reports that you created.
    • Everyone allows all users to view the report. If roles are selected from the Roles field and added to the Role required list, only users with those roles can view the report.
    • Groups and Users allows only specific groups and users to see the report.

    The Groups and Users option is visible to users with the report_group role.

    Groups

    Groups whose members are authorized to see the report.

    This field is available when the Groups and Users option is selected.

    Users

    Users who are authorized to see the report.

    This field is available when the Groups and Users option is selected.