Delete assets You can delete an asset at any time. Before you beginRole required: asset About this task A confirmation must be accepted before the asset and components are permanently deleted. If a CI and asset are linked, deleting one also deletes the other. You should delete an asset only to clean up errors. For tracking purposes, the correct method for managing an asset that is no longer in use is to change the state of the asset to Retired. Procedure Navigate to Asset > Portfolios > All Assets. Select the check box to the left of the asset Name. In the Actions choice list below the list, select Delete.