Thank you for your feedback.
Form temporarily unavailable. Please try again or contact to submit your comments.

Device classification

Log in to subscribe to topics and get notified when content changes.

Device classification

After it detects active devices in your network using a port scan (Shazzam probe), ServiceNow Discovery attempts to classify the devices so that it can gather additional information. ServiceNow Discovery launches classify probes that query devices to find out such things as operating system and version information.

The following classify probes are included with the platform:
Probe Description
UNIX - Classify SSH commands for all UNIX operating systems. ServiceNow Discovery supports SSH protocol, version 2 only.
CIM - Classify Classifies all known systems represented within a single CIM Object Manager (CIMOM).
SNMP - Classify SNMP commands for all network devices, such as printers, routers, or UPS.
Windows - Classify WMI commands for all Windows machines

How device classification works

When ServiceNow Discovery is initiated, the Shazzam probe is launched to detect open ports on devices in the network. The data returned is used by the Shazzam sensor to identify certain characteristics about these devices based on the activity known to exist on these ports. For example, UNIX-based operating systems communicate with the SSH protocol over port 22, and Windows communicates with the WMI protocol over port 135 or higher. ServiceNow Discovery makes certain assumptions about the devices, applications, and processes running on these ports and launches the appropriate classify probes to find out more. Classify sensors process the data returned from the probes and compare it with configured criteria for each class of device. At this point, classification varies, depending upon the type of scan selected and the version of ServiceNow ITSA Suite being used.

Process classification occurs during the exploration phase of ServiceNow Discovery, after device classification. For more information, see Process classification.

Deactivated SNMP classifiers

The following SNMP classifiers are deactivated. These systems continue to be discovered through other categories of classifiers, such as the UNIX or Windows classifiers.

For an active list of SNMP classifiers, navigate to Discovery Definition > CI Classification > SNMP.

  • Windows XP
  • Windows Vista
  • Windows 2000
  • Windows 2003 Standard
  • Windows 2003 Enterprise
  • Windows
  • Linux
  • Solaris
  • HP-UX
  • AIX
  • Mac OS X

The Generic Host SNMP classifier is removed from Discovery.