Change management with ServiceNow provider

By default, the ServiceNow system allows changes to ServiceNow Provider configurations only as part of a controlled change management process.

With change management, users cannot directly edit only ServiceNow records such as configuration templates or the relationships between CIs and configuration templates. For all changes to ServiceNow resources, the requesting user's manager must approve the request. If the user record does not have a value in the Manager field, the request is approved automatically.

Note: There is a property to disable this mandatory change management.

When a user requests a change, each change management approver and the requesting user receive a notification. Additionally, the Assigned to field on the change request is populated with the requesting user. This user receives a notification when the request is approved or rejected, or when a configuration change is successful or failed (node group, or pushing configuration templates directly to a single CI).