Thank you for your feedback.
Form temporarily unavailable. Please try again or contact to submit your comments.
  • London
  • Kingston
  • Jakarta
  • Istanbul
  • Helsinki
  • Geneva
  • Store

Parts of scrum

Parts of scrum

Scrum is an iterative and incremental framework for project management mainly deployed in agile software development environments.

The scrum process is comprised of the following parts:

  • A scrum theme is the highest level of the story hierarchy and describes a view of a tangible product (such as a trading application) or an abstract goal (such as performance tuning). A product owner breaks down a theme into one or more epics.
  • An epic groups related user stories together or describes a block of requirements that have not yet been rationalized into stories.
  • A Stories is a brief statement of a product requirement or a business case. Typically, stories are expressed in plain language to help the reader understand what the software should accomplish. Product owners create stories. A scrum user then divides the stories into one or more scrum tasks.
  • Scrum tasks are the discreet pieces of work required to complete a story.
Note: Make sure to create a product before attempting to create themes, epics, or stories. You cannot submit these records without attaching them to a product.

See Scrum Products for information on creating products. For a complete list of the tasks required to use SDLC Scrum Process and links to the necessary procedures, see Scrum Process Flow.

After creating stories and scrum tasks for your products, create a release backlog containing the stories from one or more of these products.