Planning console

The planning console is a centralized interface for the Project application.

The planning console gives project managers a comprehensive view of all aspects of a project, including a hierarchical list of sub-projects, if any, project tasks, which appear in a work breakdown structure (WBS) list, and the project Gantt chart. The console also integrates with Live Feed so your users can collaborate on projects.

The planning console is available starting with the Geneva release.

Sections of the planning console

The planning console is divided into the following sections:
  • A list of the project tasks if you open the planning console for a project.
  • The Gantt chart.
  • Banner icons and lists for performing tasks on the console.
Figure 1. An example planning console for a project
The planning console

For more information on the Gantt chart and the task relationships and dependencies you can build, see Gantt chart and Project task relationships and dependencies.

Deferred save mode

Deferred save mode refers to a mode whereby your changes are not automatically saved. You must manually save your changes. Enable deferred save mode when you want to experiment with the console without making actual changes to the underlying project and task records in the application. You can make up to 20 changes without saving. After 20 changes, you are prompted to save or cancel your changes.

Note: When you open the planning console, deferred save is set to the same setting that it had when you last used it. Always verify if deferred save mode is enabled or not before you start working in the planning console.
Table 1. Deferred save mode functionality
Deferred (manual) save enabled Deferred (manual) save disabled
Description You must click the save icon (The save icon to save your changes. The console automatically saves your changes.
Undo and redo You can undo and redo changes. You cannot undo any changes.
Change the project State field and trigger related business rules You cannot change the State field and related business rules are not triggered, irregardless of the com.snc.project.fire_brs_from_planning_console property. You can change the State field and trigger business rules, as long as the com.snc.project.fire_brs_from_planning_console property is enabled.

Business Rules

By default the business rules are not triggered during an operation in the planning console. You can enable the business rules using Enable firing of Business Rules property.

Automatic and manual projects

In an automatic project, any changes to a project task's dates, duration, or relationships, automatically updates all tasks the entire project, including the project record, as necessary. The automatic project icon (The automatic project icon) appears next to the project name.

In a manual project, changes to a project task's dates, duration, or relationships, do not automatically update all tasks. So parent task dates do not reflect any changes made to dependents or child tasks. The only change that is made automatically is when a task date or duration change updates the project record's dates and duration. The manual project icon (The manual project icon) appears next to the project name.

You can specify if a project is automatic or manual in the Calculation field of the Project form. This field becomes read-only when the project starts.

Tutorial

A tutorial walkthrough is available in the console. It shows you all the features of the console and how to use them. Access the walkthrough under the help icon (The help icon).